Rice University logo
 
 
 

FACULTY SENATORS   2017 - 2018 

SENATE SEAT

TERM EXPIRES

NAME

HOME
DEPT.

Additional
Dept. Liaison
or Leadership Position

EMAIL
ADDRESS

Wiess School of Natural Sciences

Seat A

2018

Pat
Hartigan

Physics & Astronomy


hartigan@rice.edu

Seat B

2018

Colin
Zelt

Earth Science

 

czelt@rice.edu

Seat C

2019

Christopher
Johns-Krull

Physics and Astronomy

 Convener of Appeals and Grievances

cmj@rice.edu

Seat D

2020

Angel
Marti-Arbona

Chemistry

Kinesiology 

aam4@rice.edu

Seat E

2020

Michael
Wolf

Mathematics


Parliamentarian

mwolf@rice.edu

Seat F

2019

Edward Nikonowicz

BioSciences 

 

 edn@rice.edu

 

 

 
 George R. Brown School of Engineering

Seat A

2019

Laura
Segatori

Chemical and Biomolecular
Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

segatori@rice.edu

Seat B

2018

Michael
Diehl

Bioengineering

Materials
Science

diehl@rice.edu

Seat C

2018

Keith
Cooper

Computer Science

Mechanical Engineering

keith@rice.edu

Seat D

2020

Marek
Kimmel

Statistics

Computational &
Applied Math.

kimmel@rice.edu

Seat E

2018

Rob
Raphael

Bioengineering

 Electrical and
Computer Eng.

rraphael@rice.edu

 

 

School of Humanities

Seat A

2020

Gwen
Bradford

Philosophy

English

gwen.bradford@
rice.edu

Seat B

2019

Graham
Bader

Art History

Religion

bader@rice.edu

Seat C

2018

Kerry
Ward

History

Spanish, Portuguese,
and Latin American Studies

kward@rice.edu

Seat D

2020

Nathan
Citino

History



 

njc3@rice.edu

Seat E

2019

Martin
Blumenthal-Barby

Classical and European
Studies

Visual and Dramatic Arts

 martin.blumenthal-barby@rice.edu

Seat F

2019

Julie Fette

Classical and European
Studies

Deputy
Speaker

fette@rice.edu

 

 

School of Social Sciences

Seat A

2018

Susan
McIntosh

Anthropology


Economics

skmci@rice.edu

Seat B

2018

Nancy
Niedzielski

Linguistics

 
Political Science

niedz@rice.edu

Seat C

2018

Stephen
Klineberg

Sociology

Sport Management

 slk@rice.edu

Seat D

2019

Jeffrey
Fleisher

Anthropology

Speaker

jfleisher@rice.edu

 

 

Shepherd School of Music

Seat A

2018

Charles
Geyer

MUSIC


charles.e.geyer@rice.edu 

 

 

School of Architecture

Seat A

2018


Christopher
Hight

ARCH


chight@rice.edu

 


Jones Graduate School of Business

Seat A

2018

Erik
Dane

MGMT

 

erik.i.dane@rice.edu

Seat B

2020

Doug
Schuler

MGMT


schuler@rice.edu

Rotating
Seat

2018

Balaji
Koka

MGMT

 

balaji.r.koka@rice.edu

 

 

Non-Tenure-Track Faculty

Seat A: Teaching

2020

David
Messmer

Program for Writing and Communication

 

dmessmer@rice.edu

Seat B: Teaching

2018

Scott
Cutler

Computer
Science

 

cutler@rice.edu

Seat C: Teaching

2020

Scott
Solomon

BioSciences

 

scott.solomon@
rice.edu

Seat D: Research

2018

Pablo
Yepes

Physics & Astronomy

 


 

 

Presidential Appointees

Seat A

2019

Lisa
Balabanlilar

History

 

balabanlilar@rice.
edu

Seat B

2020


Emilia Morosan

 

 Physics and Astronomy

 

 

 

Ex Officio, Non-Voting Members

President

 

David
Leebron

 

 

president@rice.edu

Provost

 

Marie Lynn
Miranda

 

 

provost@rice.edu